Spending some time The Fat Duck

Spending some time The Fat Duck

The Fat Duck

This week I’m at the Fat Duck. It’s an exciting, educational and awe inspiring experience. I have met chefs from all over the world; New Zealand, England, Ireland, Canada, and Argentina. There is an Australian who spends his days testing experimental recipes, an Italian chocolatier who looks like a mad scientist dressed in his lab coat holding a chocolate spray gun, and the most talented and educated chef I have yet to meet, ironically, from Los Angeles.  During my day spent in observation of the restaurant’s service, I desperately wished to morph into a fly on the wall; the tiny kitchen barely had enough extra space for my pinky finger. Oh but how the chefs work with finesee and talent, in such a small space they are able to create such beauty. Already I have seen and learned so much. I have made ice cream and sorbet, wrapped loads of caramels in edible wrappers, and watched how the lightest chocolates imaginable are made. Everything here is created with a bit of whimsy, as though it’s meant to bring out the inner child in each guest. And yet, as much as I believed I was a stickler for attention to detail, nothing I have ever experienced comes close to the intense level of standards that are upheld here. With three days left, my week is only half over, and it’s truly is rounding out to be an unforgettable time. Cheers until next week when I will be at another amazing point along the road of my European adventure!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Rach said,

    That sounds so amazing! I’m glad you’re having such a wonderful time and hope you post food pics for me to drool over……ummm….caramels in edible wrappers…you are truly in heaven!

    Rach 🙂

  2. 2

    Thomas said,

    Do you have any recipes that you would change now that you’ve had this experience?

    • 3

      Of course I have learned a lot of new techniques which make me think of new approaches to recipes, but more than change old recipes I am inspired to try new things and new creations.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

